About ...

Eliane Pouhaer's contemporary abstract watercolors are an invitation to travel, initiated by an encounter, fortuitous or sought after, with a place, essentially urban, a reflection, a presence, a light, a colorful sensation.

Everything is kept in memory through quick photographic notes that she confronts, restructures and then transposes by following a process of interaction between light and shadow, sharp and blurry, transparency and opacity to build a personal synthesis that mixes the objective space to that of emotion and the pictorial universe, directly on paper, without preparatory drawing.


The abstract works, watercolors, photos, art prints of Eliane Pouhaer are not closed to interpretation and give free rein to the imagination of the beholder.

What they have in common is that they allow a glimpse of possibilities and not a definitive image, and in this they testify to a contemporary approach.

a propos.jpg
DIVERGENCES Photo
DIVERGENCES Photo

Processus de création

DIVERGENCES Dessin
DIVERGENCES Dessin

DIVERGENCES Aquarelle
DIVERGENCES Aquarelle

DIVERGENCES Photo
DIVERGENCES Photo

Processus de création

1/3

The watercolor technique seems to him the richest to translate these passages, these shifts, these uncertain effects which express so well this idea of impermanence with which every human being will one day be confronted.


After research where the human being found himself initially present in the representation but already melted in the place by an effect of transparency such as a ghostly apparition, the need for a more in-depth work was manifested and any referent anecdotal has been removed in favor of a search for lines, colors, materials more able to explore the same tracks by evacuating what might appear to be anecdotal.

Finally, abstraction has established itself today as essential in the practice of Eliane Pouhaer, as a contemporary means of creating emotion through construction and color, but outside a strict geometric register.

A propos ...

Les aquarelles abstraites contemporaines d'Eliane Pouhaer sont une invitation aux voyages, initiée par une rencontre, fortuite ou recherchée, avec un lieu, essentiellement urbain, un reflet, une présence, une lumière, une sensation colorée.

Tout est gardé en mémoire par le biais de rapides prises de notes photographiques qu'elle confronte, restructure puis transpose en suivant un processus d'interaction entre lumière et ombre, net et flou, transparence et opacité pour construire une synthèse personnelle qui mêle l'espace objectif à celui de l'émotion et de l'univers pictural, directement sur le papier, sans dessin préparatoire.


Les oeuvres abstraites, aquarelles, photos, tirages d'Art d'Eliane Pouhaer ne sont pas fermées à l'interprétation et laissent libre cours à l'imaginaire de celui qui regarde.

Elles ont en commun de laisser entrevoir des possibles et non une image définitive et en-cela témoignent d'une démarche contemporaine.

a propos.jpg
DIVERGENCES Photo
DIVERGENCES Photo

Processus de création

press to zoom
DIVERGENCES Dessin
DIVERGENCES Dessin

press to zoom
DIVERGENCES Aquarelle
DIVERGENCES Aquarelle

press to zoom
DIVERGENCES Photo
DIVERGENCES Photo

Processus de création

press to zoom
1/3

La technique de l'aquarelle lui semble la plus riche pour traduire ces passages, ces glissements, ces effets incertains qui expriment si bien cette idée d'impermanence à laquelle tout être humain se verra un jour confronté.


Après des recherches où l’être humain se retrouvait dans un premier temps présent dans la représentation mais déjà fondu dans le lieu par un effet de transparence telle une apparition fantomatique, la nécessité d’un travail plus en profondeur s’est manifesté et tout référent anecdotique s’est vu supprimé au bénéfice d’une recherche de lignes, de couleurs, de matières plus à même d’explorer les mêmes pistes en évacuant ce qui pouvait apparaître comme anecdotique. 

L'abstraction enfin s’est imposée aujourd'hui comme essentielle dans la pratique d’Eliane Pouhaer,  comme un moyen contemporain de créer une émotion par la construction et la couleur mais en dehors d'un registre géométrique stricte.